New Mexico Hunter Education

New Mexico Hunter Education & Safety Information No one under 18 years of age may hunt with a firearm without first possessing a certificate proving that he/she has passed this, or another state’s hunter education course or is currently enrolled in the New Mexico Mentored-Youth (MY) Hunting Program. Uncertified juveniles may shoot firearms if under […]

Iowa Hunter Safety Course

Iowa Hunter Safety Course & Education Information By providing hunter education to the public, the DNR will help ensure the safety of hunters throughout our state. Continue to promote the ethic’s and fair chase, hunter responsibility and landowner relations. Safety, recruitment, and retention of hunters is key to the long tradition of hunting in Iowa’s […]

Texas Hunter Safety Course

Texas Hunter Safety Course Information Who is required to take Texas Hunter Education? Every hunter (including out-of-state hunters) born on or after Sept. 2, 1971, must successfully complete a Hunter Education Training Course. Minimum age of certification is 9 years of age. If you were born on or after September 2, 1971 and you are: […]

Oklahoma Hunter Safety Course

What is Hunter Education? Hunter education covers a variety of topics including firearms safety, wildlife identification, wildlife conservation and management, survival, archery, muzzleloading and hunter responsibility. It is available as a standard eight-hour course, an internet home study course and a workbook home study course. Why Hunter Education? Over the past 30 years, hunting related […]

Kansas Hunter Safety

As amended and effective January 1, 2005 Kansas law provides: Anyone born on or after July 1, 1957 must be certified by an approved course in hunter education before they can hunt in Kansas EXCEPT that anyone 15 years old and under may hunt without hunter education certification PROVIDED that they are under the direct supervision of an adult […]

Arkansas Hunter Safety & Education

Who Needs a Hunter Education Card? Anyone born on or after Jan. 1, 1969, must complete a hunter education course and carry a valid hunter education card to hunt in Arkansas. Youths under 16 may hunt without hunter education as long as they are under the direct supervision of an adult who is 21 years old. […]

Missouri Hunter Safety and Education

Hunter education is required in Missouri, and it qualifies you to buy a firearms hunting permit. Our Discover Hunting workshops teach better shooting and hunting skills. Use this section to find hunter education opportunities near you and online. Hunting Permits Once you have your hunter education certificate, you can buy a permit to hunt for […]

Wyoming Game & Fish Department

Hunter safety course schedule.

California Department of Fish and Wildlife Main

NJ Division of Fish & Wildlife

New Jersey’s hunter education program. Materials, Field Sessions and Exams Home Study Workbook (pdf, 120kb) (Required; HunterCourse.com voucher can be substituted) NJ Hunter Education Study Guide NJ Hunter Education Video HunterCourse.com Course (fee applies) Consent Form – Required for those under 18 (pdf, 9kb) Practice Exams Where to Get Hunter Education Materials Field Session and Exam Information (including directions to field locations)